MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Gear & Recording (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Death Metal (home recorded, in my bedroom) (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34148)

Bloodsoaked666 2006-11-26 17:59

Death Metal (home recorded, in my bedroom)
 
My latest and greatest (LOL) home recorded death metal song Grinding Your Guts has been recored, mixes and masterd all in my bedroom. Check out the song here:

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pag...m?bandID=481840


I would love opinions on Grinding Your Guts good or bad.


Info on the recording:

4 guitar tracks 1 80% left, 1 80% right, 1 100% left , 1 100% right
1 bass track centered
1 drum machine track centered
1 main vocal track with some 2nd track fill-ins

The guitars are all done with my V-Amp Pro. 2 tracks with the Off-Axis Cabinet and 2 tracks with the Vintage 78 Cabinet. I also used the V-Amp Pro to record the bass track as well.

Any and all comments are more than welcome good and/or bad. Any questions please ask.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to listen and comment!!!

Peter

Megadeth 2006-11-26 18:34

VERY crushing/heavy i listened to all your songs on sound click and i liked "killing you" the most.Your recordings sound great what kind of amplifiers/pedals do you use??

Bloodsoaked666 2006-11-26 20:25

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megadeth
VERY crushing/heavy i listened to all your songs on sound click and i liked "killing you" the most.Your recordings sound great what kind of amplifiers/pedals do you use??


Killing You was my very first song I home recorded and I still like it allot as well. I like other songs better but that is great that you like it.

I do not use any amps or pedals, the only thing I use to record guitars is my V-Amp Pro. If your not sure what the V-Amp Pro is check out this link: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/prod...eamp?sku=480691

I also use the V-Amp Pro to record my bass tracks.

Let me know if you have any other questions dude!!!


Peter

Bloodsoaked666 2006-11-27 09:04

Thanks to everyone that has listened!!!

You can listen to all 8 songs here:
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pag...m?bandID=481840


Peter

Somnus 2006-11-28 22:57

Damn!

Definatly a thumbs up from me.

EDIT: About "Grinding Your Guts" that is, other stuff is excellent too.

Bloodsoaked666 2006-11-28 23:58

Quote:
Originally Posted by Somnus
Damn!

Definatly a thumbs up from me.

EDIT: About "Grinding Your Guts" that is, other stuff is excellent too.


Thanks allot dude!!! Glad you like the songs!!!


Peter

jackson_metal_head 2006-12-04 15:54

Dude, you owned, Yeah thumbs up for me aswell.

Id love it if you could say how you achieve your tone.

What settings do you use on your v-amp, im considoring buying one just after hearing you use it in this.

Or do you have some kind of uber guitar which makes your tone?
Please tell me what pickups you use!

thanks. :beer:

Bloodsoaked666 2006-12-04 19:55

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackson_metal_head
Dude, you owned, Yeah thumbs up for me aswell.

Id love it if you could say how you achieve your tone.

What settings do you use on your v-amp, im considoring buying one just after hearing you use it in this.

Or do you have some kind of uber guitar which makes your tone?
Please tell me what pickups you use!


Hay dude, thanks for the killer compliments! I use the off-axis and vintage cabinets on the v-amp. I tweaked them allot and got them to were I like them. If you get it let me know and I can email you the patch I use to get my tone. I have a Jackson DKGMT Dinky guitar w/EMG pick ups.

Let me know if you have any other questions.


Peter

jackson_metal_head 2006-12-05 03:15

Awesome, i will let you know when i get it!

jackson_metal_head 2006-12-05 11:29

Ok, im just about to go and buy one, id just like to ask How you connect it to the computer, (ie is it via firewire or midi)

Also i spoke to the dude in the shop and he said it was just a poweramp, i will be using the preamp off my current head but id be interested to know how you run it.

Thansk alot mate.

Soeru 2006-12-05 17:09

Wow! Just wow. That's a really really good guitar tone(and vocals too btw), balanced and full, not what you usually get from many modeling pre's). I like the tightness. Sounds a lot better than many pro DM bands' tone!

You hooked up the pre directly up to the cabs? No poweramp? How does that work, does it have good headroom?

666petthylord666 2006-12-05 17:25

FUCKING BRUTAL!!!! you killed it. great job.

Bloodsoaked666 2006-12-05 19:59

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackson_metal_head
Ok, im just about to go and buy one, id just like to ask How you connect it to the computer, (ie is it via firewire or midi)

Also i spoke to the dude in the shop and he said it was just a poweramp, i will be using the preamp off my current head but id be interested to know how you run it.

Thansk alot mate.


All you will need is the V-Amp Pro, 2 midi cables and the free software from the behringer website and that is it. No need to your your preamp at all. Go directly from your guitar into the v-amp pro and then into your sound cards line in. I have a M-Audio sound card but I started off with a standard sound card and that should work pretty decent for you.

You will need to make sure your computer has midi conections, mine did not and that is why I upgraded to the M-Audio soundcard.

What is your email address and I will email you the patch for the V-Amp pro I use.


Peter

Bloodsoaked666 2006-12-05 20:00

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666petthylord666
FUCKING BRUTAL!!!! you killed it. great job.


Thanks allot dude. I appreciate it!!!


Peter

Bloodsoaked666 2006-12-05 20:03

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soeru
Wow! Just wow. That's a really really good guitar tone(and vocals too btw), balanced and full, not what you usually get from many modeling pre's). I like the tightness. Sounds a lot better than many pro DM bands' tone!

You hooked up the pre directly up to the cabs? No poweramp? How does that work, does it have good headroom?


Hey man, thanks for the killer comments. it took me a little while to get my recordeds to where they are and I still ahve SOOO much to learn but I am happy with what I got so far.

No cabs at all....Guitar into the V-Amp Pro into my computers sound card and that is it. No mics needed or anything. I can record at 3:00 in the morning and not wake anyone up. I will just listen to everything on headphones, it works perfect.

I hope this answered your question, if not let me know and I will explaine more.


Peter

Soeru 2006-12-05 20:29

Aha cool, I just got thrown off because you mentioned cabs in the original post, hence making me think you were micing it.

I've got an old Digitech RP1(ancient multifx processor) on top of my comp, I just hook it out with a 1/8" audio cable right from the "phones" jack into my computer's line in jack(no converters or anything). Sounds like crap but it works OK. :P It has midi ins and outs(and thru(?)), I would borrow a cable to try the midi thing myself if I had midi jacks on my soundcoard.

What do you use for recording? Cubase? And what drum machine app you using?

Bloodsoaked666 2006-12-05 21:25

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soeru
Aha cool, I just got thrown off because you mentioned cabs in the original post, hence making me think you were micing it.

I've got an old Digitech RP1(ancient multifx processor) on top of my comp, I just hook it out with a 1/8" audio cable right from the "phones" jack into my computer's line in jack(no converters or anything). Sounds like crap but it works OK. :P It has midi ins and outs(and thru(?)), I would borrow a cable to try the midi thing myself if I had midi jacks on my soundcoard.

What do you use for recording? Cubase? And what drum machine app you using?


Ahhh....I can see how you would get confused from when I mentioned cabs. The cabs I mentioned are just cab options I can choose on the v-amp pro to give it different tones.

I use Mixcraft for recording and Beatcraft for the drum machine. You can buy them both together to like $70 or something as a bundul package. Check them out here: http://www.acoustica.com/products.htm

No cubase for me or any other expensve stuff. I just tweak the hell out of what I got and I love it.

Let me know if you have any other questions.


Peter

Shift_aws 2006-12-05 23:15

not really my fancy but its cool

Soeru 2006-12-06 07:09

Cool I'll be giving Beatcraft a download then, as I'm having so much trouble making good loops in Fruity Loops. Thx for the info.

Bloodsoaked666 2006-12-07 21:33

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soeru
Cool I'll be giving Beatcraft a download then, as I'm having so much trouble making good loops in Fruity Loops. Thx for the info.


Cool....Beatcraft is very easy to use.


Peter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:37.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.