MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Gear & Recording (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Sampling type programs for live applications? (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=33494)

Shreddist 2006-10-30 15:32

Sampling type programs for live applications?
 
What program should i use for running my bands click tracks, which contain some audio within them for a live application. For example one click track has the click on hard left which is fed to the drummer, and then we have a few keyboards and effects on hard right which contains that audio. We could use I tunes except it automatically cues the next song and starts it immediately. We dont want that! Are there any programs specifically designed for this type of application?

Thank you.
Drake

davie_gravy 2006-10-30 17:30

any DAW should handle all your needs.

Sycophant 2006-10-30 21:16

Quote:
Originally Posted by davie_gravy
any DAW should handle all your needs.


Totally. Either that or a laptop running Cubase with an external mutli-output soundcard.

Shreddist 2006-10-30 22:43

Yeah i want Software for my Windows Laptop to do this with.

davie_gravy 2006-10-30 23:27

just search for DAW. There's Cubase, Adobe Audition, Garageband, Acid Pro, etc, etc. Choose your poison...

rapeandruin 2006-10-30 23:58

how about something simple like winamp...shit...

Shreddist 2006-10-31 00:26

I thought tose were mainly for recording and shit, but theyre also used for running a show?

Sycophant 2006-10-31 01:43

Sure, many people run shows through software. I know alot of bands who don't even use amps - they do their guitars through Amplitube or Line 6 Amp Farm or VST shit through Cubase. It's supreme for sending signals out to different output and you have total control over how things are gonna be realized before they hit the mixing board.

Winamp or Media Player are out of the question, because you can't redirect a click track through headphones with it as say, in Cubase. Plus, I can speak from experience, these media players add noise and all kinda of shit when amplified through a PA and kill signal quality of an exported file.

Shreddist 2006-10-31 02:12

I think you guys have me wrong. The tracks are already created, they have the click panned hard left, and music hard right. I just need something to cue it and play it with, with out loosing quality!

Sycophant 2006-10-31 03:59

No dude, a DAW from a laptop live with an external soundcard is how to pull this off.
In my old band, we had the same situation and this is how we did it. We had pre-recorded keyboards and samples running from a laptop with Cubase on it, as well as a click for the drummer [achieved through using the metronome function in Cubase.] Live and at practice we'd run the signal to an external soundcard, feeding the drummer a monitor mix [all instruments] with the click in his headphones. Everybody else got the pre-recorded keys and samples in the monitor mix.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.