MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Drums Zone (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Metronomes (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28287)

Vomitor 2006-03-02 21:31

Metronomes
 
What model's do you all use and which do you think are good? Since we are drummers they must be loud, so headphones are also a requirement. I have been playing for a while, but realize it is 'bout time I got one and started to get seriously accurate and in different time signatures.

A couple which I have looked at...

Boss DB-90 "Dr. Beat Metronome"
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product?sku=213017

Tama Rhythm Watch
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/prod...ries?sku=442776

NZ black metal drumm 2006-03-03 00:24

Cubase Click tracks

plug my headphones into an amp, which is plugged into my PC

complex but really good

cause I can program any speed

and change the count eg:

CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK etc.

or

CLICK click CLICK click

or

CLICK click click CLICK click click

etc.

Grond 2006-03-03 00:35

I got an electric drum kit, so ive a click "inside" of it...
That is pretty useful because i can change to a special mode in wich the drum computer of my kit is telling me if i am playing exactly to the beat or not...
I can also change the sound of my click: e.g a mans voice saying one, two, three, four with 16's 'click' between it (one click click click, two click click click, three click click click, four click click click)... or: boop click click click beep click click click beep click click click beep click click click

Demogorgon 2006-03-03 12:17

I use the Cool Edit Pro metronome.
Many options and very "sturdy".

jimmers 2006-03-03 12:52

Yeah, and too quiet to hear. Fine for a guitar or something but no good for drums.

Tattered 2006-03-03 13:14

The Tama rhythm watch is highly recommended by the drummers i jam with/play in bands with.

The Execrator 2006-03-03 17:31

The Tama Rhythm Watch does seem pretty badass. I see alot of drummers posting it in their equipment lists. I've had a little $30 metronome for the past 3 years, but I hardly ever use it. I do practice with it every once in a while to work on my timing but not much. It's not loud enough. I don't recommend you get this or anything similar.

Grond 2006-03-04 03:30

Actually all the metronomes you are talking about are a little bit too quiet, arent they? :p

Tattered 2006-03-04 16:31

Not if they are put through decent headphones or some sort of 25watt practice amp/speaker.

jimmers 2006-03-04 20:27

Not loud enough for me still.

The only thing I can do that's just barely loud enough (and only 75% of the time even then) is make a pattern in Fruity Loops with every highish pitched sound I can lay my hands on. So the clap, the snare, the blip thing etc, then make an mp3 of that and listen to it through Winamp or whatever with the pre-amp and volume wound up all the way.

I have got pretty good isolating headphones, but cymbals just fuck you up every time.

I don't think I'd even like the beep of the Cool Edit Pro metronome to be screaming in my ears. I've lost enough high end hearing as it is, don't really feel like wanking it up any more.

In an ideal world I'd get one of those things that goes under your throne and vibrates up through you. They're normally used as monitors, but would obviously work fine with a click too. These things can work no matter how loud the sounds around you, or even if you're wearing earplugs and stuff. Just the small matter of costing over a grand that gets in my way.

NZ black metal drumm 2006-03-05 01:17

I actually use an assault rifle for my metronome,

I use a fully automatic Rifle, firing, it starts at a nice brisk 400 Bpm, but is loud enough for my kit.

it has the added bonus of the neighbours not complaining about my drumming :angel:

Grond 2006-03-05 10:54

@NZ
hahahaha :rofl:
:uzi:
you are right, that should be loud enough...^^

@topic
arent there any metronomes out there that are loud enough?
Without an amp?

The Execrator 2006-03-05 11:39

I always thought some of the bigger metronomes would be fairly loud through headphones. It would be a good idea to go to a store and check out a bunch of them, which is what I will try to do. But I do not have my license yet so that may be a while...

Grond 2006-03-05 12:07

maybee i should do that, too... because i have only (as i said) the metronome in my electric kit... and if i wanna play on my a-kit i have no metronome... if you find a good one please post the name of it...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.