MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Music Theory (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   double note one is sharp (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17488)

pinkerbell 2005-01-24 14:55

double note one is sharp

i'm relearning the piano after 20 years with beethoven's moonlight sonata. i've encountered a note printed twice and one is sharp and the other is not. how do i play this? do i play 2 keys? the regular note and the sharp?

guitar_demon 2005-01-24 15:08

can you give a pic of it? are they above each other or side by side?
if above-then yes play both at the same time harmonicaly
if side by side-then play one after the other melodically

pinkerbell 2005-01-24 15:39

as you can tell, i'm new to this sight, so i'll try to send a picture ...

no, i can't. i can e-mail it to you ...
the notes are the same, let's say a b and a b sharp, side by side. i have so many questions, what does a little "x" to the left a note mean?

guitar_demon 2005-01-24 16:03

if theyre side by side, then play one then the other with the correct timing like
---------------
---------------
----o--#o---------
---------------
---------------
if thats the case play the B then the B#

the "X" next to a note means its double sharped, if you have this then it means to take the original note and add a whole step to it
so if you have a Ax then it really means to play a B , thats the trickery of enharminoc values :)
any more Q's just ask :beer:

TruthDevoid 2005-01-24 16:08

hey guitar demon, i've been wondering this and you just reminded me to ask, what is the point of a double sharped note? why don't they just make it a B instead of Ax?

pinkerbell 2005-01-24 16:10