MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Bass Zone (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Fretless Basses (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10077)

Papalazarou 666 2004-03-20 10:22

Fretless Basses

Okay, i'll openly admit that I am a guitarist and have absaloutley no idea about bass, so I was hoping you guys could answer my question -

What is the difference between fretless basses and normal basses, does it just make sliding easier or something ?

Cheers.

Rattlehead 2004-03-22 13:16

I don't know too much myself, but I'll start by stating the obvious. A fretless bass has no frets on the neck. This give a very different sound and changes the playing style. Now this is just speculation but I think the notes do not ring as long. Usually instruments that have no frets (like a violin) are played with a bow, which would be the same as continuously strumming the string, but since bassists pick, I think the note won't ring as long. Apart from perhaps being easier, sliding sounds different because the note changes progressively as you slide instead of changing each time you get to a new fret. For some reason I think tapping might be easier on a fretless, but it could be just the opposite. I hope someone who knows what they're talking about answers here.

MorbidGuitar 2004-03-22 14:29

They're retardedly hard to play too i hear. You have to know exactly where every chord is played sort of like a standup bass that jazz/blues/classical players use. I dont know a lot about them either so i might be wrong.

Stachio 2004-03-23 01:48